Tuesday, 21 July 2009

Louise Penny - Dead Cold

This is the second book in the Inspector Armand Gamache crime series set in Canada. If you are intending to read them I recommend that you read them in order, see below, as subsequent books do carry spoilers for the previous novels.
They are fabulous. They are modern day Agatha Christie. Small village murder stories, so far set in the picturesque and isolated village of Three Pines. There is a wonderful mixture of characters that make up the village, and we are left with a classic 'whodunnit'. There are wonderful twists and turns and some excellent red herrings, that keep you guessing all the way through.
I also like the subplot that carries through the novels. Inspector Gamache of the Montreal Surete, refused to compromise on a previous case of police corruption, and so has enemies within the force that are determined to bring him down, and he has a traitor within his team!
An extra plus is the wonderful poetry written by one of the characters Ruth. Perhaps Louise could be persuaded to bring out her own book of poetry as well?
A very satisfying read that I could not put down, what is housework after all? I have immediately picked up the next book, as I want to know who the traitor is , but I am sure I am going to have to wait!


Unknown said...

want to read from book 1 as you suggest
Whats the title of the first one in this series please


Vicki Goldie, author said...

Hi Denny, the first book in the series is called Still Life. Enjoy!!